The Texas Rising Star (TRS) Workgroup was established by House Bill 376 (HB 376), enacted by the 83rd Texas Legislature, for the purpose of reviewing the TRS child care provider certification program guidelines and providing recommendations to the Texas Workforce Commission. The group’s recommendations are due no later than May 1, 2014.

Return to Top

TRS Workgroup Members

HB 376 establishes the group’s membership to include:

  • A member from each of the following agencies:
  • A Texas School-Ready! project participant
  • Four Texas Rising Star certified providers
  • Three staff members from different local workforce development boards.

Below are the TRS Workgroup members.

Name Organization/Business
Reagan Miller, Presiding Officer Texas Workforce Commission
Lana Estevilla Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
Howard Morrison Texas Education Agency
LaShonda Brown Texas Early Childhood Professional Development System
Dr. Elaine Zweig Collin County Community College
Doug Watson Healy-Murphy Child Development Center
Patricia Smith Little Dudes Learning Center
Pattie Herbert Infants 123
Sharon Davis Workforce Solutions Northeast Texas
Sul Ross Workforce Solutions Gulf Coast
Sandra Solis Workforce Solutions Lower Rio Grande Valley
Mary Clare Munger Amarillo College Child Development Lab
Rebecca Latimer Just Kidding Around

Return to Top

Upcoming Meetings

The next Texas Rising Star Workgroup meeting will be held on April 24, 2014.

Return to Top

Draft Working Papers - TRS Workgroup Subcommittees

Return to Top

Last Verified: April 09, 2014

Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
Deaf, hard-of-hearing or speech-impaired customers may contact Relay Texas: 800-735-2989 (TTY) and 711 (Voice). Equal opportunity is the law.

Texas Workforce Commission Values: Community, Responsibility, Innovation, Accountability, Commitment to Excellence and Partnership.

©2011 Texas Workforce Commission Sitemap Policies Report fraud: 800-252-3642